Volume 2: Issue 5: July 2002

Welcome to the July 2002 update of wailers.co.uk. This site aims to bring you news and opinions of the Wailers and associated affairs, with regular contributors offering articles and reports from around the world.

NOTICE: Due to personal comittments, the webmasters have been unable to update this site over the past few months. We apologise for the disappointment this may have caused, and would like to thank those who expressed concern for this sites future.We will update as and when we can, and would greatly appreciate any articles, reports, news and info submitted to this cause.

The much anticipated overhaul of Peter Tosh's EMI catalogue is due to hit the shops on July 30th.

The 6 albums, beginning with Tosh's third solo set Bush Doctor and running through to his final album No Nuclear War, all contain bonus tracks and finally reinstate Peter's recorded legacy to the level that it deserves after several years in the wilderness.

Bush Doctor was released in November 1978 and was Peter's first release contracted to the Rolling Stones' record label. Recorded at Dynamic Sounds and produced by Peter and bass player Robbie Shakespear, the album features Tosh's breakthrough UK hit Don't Look Back, a duet with Mick Jagger as well as a couple of Wailers updates and the classic tiyle track.

The expanded edition features 6 bonus tracks, including the previously unreleased Tough Rock Soft Stones and the original version of Lesson In My Life.

Bush Doctor (remastered version)
1. Don't look back (you've gotta walk)
2. Pick myself up
3. I'm the toughest
4. Soon come
5. Moses the Prophet
6. Bush doctor
7. Stand firm
8. Dem ha fe get a beatin'
9. Creation
10. Lesson in my life (bonus track)
11. Soon come (long version)
12. I'm the toughest (long version)
13. Bush doctor (long version)
14. Don't look back (you've gotta walk) (version)
15. Tough rock soft stones (previously unreleased)

The second release in the series is the 1979 opus Mystic Man, which is treated to 5 additional extended or instrumental bonus tracks:

Mystic Man (remastered version)
1. Mystic man
2. Recruiting soldiers
3. Can't you see
4. Jah say no
5. Fight on
6. Buk In Hamm Palace
7. Day the dollar die
8. Crystal ball
9. Rumours of war
10. Buk In Hamm Palace (12" version)
11. Mystic man (long version)
12. Fight on (instrumental)
13. Recruiting soldiers (version)
14. Dubbing Buk In Hamm Palace (bonus track)

Peter's final album for the Rolling Stones label, 1981's Wanted: Dread and Alive finally recieves the expanded release containing both US and European track listings fans have long anticipated. The new version also comtains a previous;y unreleased version of Rok With Me:

Wanted: Dread & Alive (remstered version)
1. Coming in hot
2. Nothing but love
3. Regaemylitis
4. Rok with me
5. Oh bumbo klaat
6. Wanted dread and alive
7. Rastafari is
8. Guide me from my friend
9. Fools die (for want of wisdom)
10. Poor man feed it (bonus track)
11. Cold blood (bonus track)
12. That's what they will do (bonus track)
13. Rok with me (alt. long mix - previously unreleased)
14. Nothing but love (long version)

The somewhat overlooked Mama Africa album from 1983 raised Peter's profile in international circles via it's interpretation of Chuck Berry's Johnny B. Goode, and the extended 10" mix is one of two additionals:

Mama Africa (remastered version)
1. Mama Africa
2. Glass house
3. Not gonna give it up
4. Stop that train
5. Johnny B Goode
6. Where you gonna run
7. Peace treaty
8. Feel no way
9. Maga dog
10. Johnny B Goode (long version)
11. Where you gonna run (long version)

The first official live album, recorded at the Greek Theatre, Los Angeles on 23rd August 1983 is vastly expanded, adding 8 bonus tracks to give a full document of the show:

Captured Live (remastered version)
1. Intro/Creation/Buk In Hamm Palace (intro)
2. Pick myself up
3. African
4. Coming in hot
5. Not gonna give it up
6. Rastafari is
7. Where you gonna run
8. Don't look back (you've gotta walk)
9. Glass house
10. Equal rights/Downpressor man
11. Peter's rap
12. Bush doctor
13. Johnny B Goode
14. Get up stand up
15. Mama Africa

The final studio album, No Nuclear War belatedly released in 1987, the year of Peter's assasination is merely expanded by one track:

No Nuclear War (remastered version)
1. No nuclear war
2. Nah goa jail
3. Fight apartheid
4. Vampire
5. In my song
6. Lessons in my life
7. Testify
8. Come together
9. No nuclear war (extended 7" mix)

Timothy White, the Editor in Chief of Billboard and author of Catch A Fire: the life of Bob Marley passed away at the end of June.

White apparently suffered a heart attack after returning to the Billboard offices from lunch with a long-time friend. He was unable to be revived after being rushed to St. Vincent's Hospital, where he was pronounced dead.

White's biography on Marley, first published in 1983 and regularly updated, was an insightful account of the legend and offered a human portait of a man often seen as a demigod. The book also caused some controversy among fans for it's supposed and fictional conversation narratives.

White leaves behind his wife, Judy, and their 10-year-old twin sons, Christopher and Alexander.

Wailers percussionist and mentor Alvin Seeco Patterson, and legendary producer Lee "Scratch" Perry will be among those honoured at the annual Tribute to the Greats award show on August 10th in Jamaica.

The King Omar Promotions' music awards show and dance will again be held, for the fifith consecutive year, at Curphey Place, Swallowfield Road according to the Jamaica Gleaner, and other awardee's include Derrick Harriott, Cluet Johnson and Clancy Eccles.

Also receiving a special award will be Rasta elder Mortimor Planno, and Noel Williams a.k.a. King Sporty, who co-wrote Bob's posthumus smash hit Buffalo Soldier, is also honoured.

Remember, our good friend and website contributor Alvaro Gaynicotche now broadcasts a show dedicated to Bob & the Wailers every Saturday on X FM -100.3 Montevideo,Uruguay.

X FM is broadcoast on the Internet, so you can hear it from all over the world. The Uruguay time for the show is : Saturday, 7:00 PM to 9:00PM.

People can contact Alvaro at : robertovive@portalx.com.uy
And you can hear by clicking "X FM"" on this site:
¡Roberto Vive!

Previous Updates:
Number 16, April 2002    Number 15, March 2002
Number 14, February 2002     Number 13, January 2002

Number 12, December 2001     Number 11, November 2001
Number 10, October 2001     Number 9, September 2001
Number 8, August 2001    Number 7, July 2001
Number 6, June 2001     Number 5, May 2001
Number 4, April 2001    Number 3, March 2001
Number 2, February 2001    Number 1, January 2001

Please visit these Wailers/reggae sites:

The OFFICIAL Wailers website: www.wailers.com

www.bobmarley.freeserve.co.uk     Django! Ska, Rocksteady & Reggae

http://robertnestamarley.free.fr     The Wailers News

www.melodymakers.de     bobmarleyshop.com

Bob Marley Magazine     http://go.to/bobmarleyshows

Contact: jahlight@wailers.co.uk